The Commission on People with Disabilities was established to ensure that “Westport is a town where people with disabilities have the equal opportunity and the support to enjoy full and equal access to lives of independence, productivity, inclusion and self-determination.” The role of the Commission is to look at all aspects of the town and its resources, engaging in public dialogue and creating opportunities for understanding,  advocacy and community responses to the needs of all of its residents.

The Commission will be working on the following issues:

  • Employment/Life Transition
  • Health & Wellness
  • Social and Recreation Opportunities
  • Housing & Emergency preparedness
  • Transportation & Mobility
  • Education & Personal Development for persons of all ages
  • Federal, State and local laws and policies
The Commission was established in July of 2016 and is recognized as part of the Town Charter.   It's members are a cross-section of community members, appointed by the First Selectman.  Public meetings are at 8:30 a.m on the third Thursday of each month. 

The 2016-2017 Appointed Members are Westport residents representing advocates, caregivers and professionals.  They include: Jim Ross (Chair), Marina Derman, Diane Johnson, Stacie Curran, Luann Giunta, Tom Holleman, and Evan Levinson.  The Human Services Department will provide staff support for the Commission.

Contact us at: